LEGO 6009 Black Knight

125009 LEGO 6009 Black Knight (26-08-2012)
from: LEGO Castle theme / size: ± 35 cm

Download:
parts (6,14 MB PDF file)
instructions (3,26 MB PDF file)

Pictures:
Picasa webalbum

About ninjatoes

I love papercraft - so I made my own for you to download, print and build! ;o)

Posted on August 26, 2012, in Castle, LEGO and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Hi,
    I just finished the helmet and am about to begin the dragon and plumes. It’s wonderful. Do you use a pen or something to mask the white edges on the paper?
    Do you work from LDraw LEGO parts that you import in Pepakura Designer? I would like too to make a horse, but I suppose it’s rather dificult and time-consuming to create a model that fits perfectly like yours.

    Keep going!

    • Hi there, I’m happy to hear you’re enjoying your build of the papercraft Black Knight!

      Indeed I use markers or pencils to colour the white edges, it’s a simple but effective trick that makes a paper model look extra good, especially paper models with dark colours. If you use markers though, you have to take into account that the ink from the markers will soak into the paper a bit, so it often turns out darker than you thought: always try it out on a scrap piece of paper first!

      I made the 3D models myself in a 3D program called Sketchup, you can see examples of it if you browse through the LEGO category on my weblog: http://ninjatoes.blogspot.com/search/label/LEGO

      Most parts are the same everytime of course except for the colours, and for “new” parts I make scans of the actual minifigs and pictures from the internet. They’re really not 100% accurate sized up versions of the real minifigs, but I took a lot of time to make them the best I could, and I’m pretty happy with the way they came out. ;o)

      The thing with existing 3D models (which I do often use for many of my papercraft video game models!) is that they aren’t created with papercraft in mind, and you need to do a lot of work anyway to make them into a paper model that’s fun to build… So I figured that in this case (because most of the shapes are pretty straight forward compared to other models… ;o) it was faster to make the 3D models myself, so I could make them exactly the way I needed to unfold to be able to assemble the paper model the way I thought would be best later on. ;o)

      Making the parts fit “perfectly” is really just a matter of trial and error: I just kept adjusting the size of the connecting pieces until I was happy with the fit. ;o)

      Have fun with the rest of the build, the plumes have some really thing and small pieces, so be sure to “pre-shape” (curve / fold them in the shape they need to be) them as well as you can to make it easier to glue them together.

  1. Pingback: CraftCrave | Blog | Free Papercraft Items (large): Monday, 27 Aug 2012

  2. Pingback: LEGO 6009 Black Knight Free Papercraft Download | PaperCraftSquare - Free Papercrafts, Paper Models, Paper Toys Download

Leave a Reply

